

Child Care Services Division BRIGHT FROM THE START: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning Enforcement Actions and Descriptions

All Enforcement Actions currently issued by Child Care Services are defined as follows:

1. Citation – A written notation of how a rule was violated that is issued in a regulatory visit report when it has been determined that a provider was out of compliance with a rule.

Regulatory visit reports can be viewed by searching for a facility at www.decal.ga.gov.

- Formal Notice Letter A letter given to a facility regarding serious or repeated rule violations advising that corrective action is required and further enforcement action may result. (Not currently available online)
- Office Conference A meeting with a facility and DECAL staff to discuss rule violations and required corrective action that is documented in a letter. (Not currently available online)
- 4. Technical Assistance Guidance, information, and resources provided by a consultant to help a facility meet rule requirements.
- 5. Cease and Desist A written notice issued to an unlicensed provider to officially notify the provider the program must stop operating. The Cease and Desist notice is issued when an unlicensed program does not stop operating after given notice to do so and does not apply for a license or exemption.
- Enforcement Fine A monetary penalty issued to a provider. If the provider files an appeal, the action is suspended until the appeal is resolved. Enforcement fines will be posted 15 days after issued or, if appealed, when the appeal process is completed.
 - Per Day Fine A monetary penalty up to \$500 per day of continued violation of a rule, but not exceeding \$25,000 in total; assessed for each day serious or repeated rule violations occur.
 - Per Rule Fine A monetary penalty up to \$500 per rule, but not exceeding \$25,000 in total; assessed for each serious or repeated rule violation.
- Restricted License –A limitation placed on a license regarding a particular service, i.e., transportation, ages served, etc. either for a specific period of time or permanently. If the provider files an appeal, the action is suspended until the appeal is resolved. A Restricted License will be posted 15 days after issued or, if appealed, when the appeal process is completed.
- 8. Consent Agreement A legal document used to impose requirements and/or restrictions on a licensed or registered provider that are agreed to by Bright from the Start and the provider. Most Consent Agreements will be posted after they are signed by both parties.



Child Care Services Division BRIGHT FROM THE START: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning Enforcement Actions and Descriptions

- 9. Revocation A legal action to take away a provider's license or registration to operate. Bright from the Start provides notice of the revocation to the provider, parents and guardians. Facilities that appeal a revocation are allowed to operate during the appeal process. The official Notice of Revocation will be posted on the website once the notice is mailed. Revocations remain permanently available for public viewing unless they are rescinded or reversed.
- 10. Revocation Non-payment of License Fee A legal action to take away a provider's license or registration for failure to pay the annual license fee. Bright from the Start provides notice of the revocation of the license or registration to operate to the provider, parents and guardians. Facilities that appeal a revocation are allowed to operate during the appeal process. The revocation will be rescinded if the provider pays the license fee within 30 days of receipt of the Revocation. The official Notice of Revocation will be posted on the website once the notice is mailed. Revocations remain permanently available for public viewing unless they are rescinded or reversed.
- 11. Revocation Non-payment of Enforcement Fine A legal action to take away a provider's license or registration for failure to pay a previously issued Enforcement Fine. Bright from the Start provides notice of the revocation of the license or certificate of registration to operate to the provider, parents and guardians. Facilities that appeal a revocation are allowed to operate during the appeal process. The revocation will be rescinded if the provider pays the fine within 30 days of receipt of the Revocation. The official Notice of Revocation will be posted on the website once the notice is mailed. Revocations remain permanently available for public viewing unless they are rescinded or reversed.
- 12. Denial A legal action to refuse to issue a license or registration. Bright from the Start provides notice of its intent to refuse to issue a license or registration to operate to the applicant. Denials will be posted 15 days after issued or, if appealed, when the appeal process is completed.
- 13. Emergency Closure Order Immediate legal action taken to temporarily close a facility while an investigation is conducted when it is determined that children are in imminent danger or when a death occurs that is not medically anticipated. The issuance and appeal process of Emergency Orders occurs rapidly. Emergency Closure Orders will be posted on the website as soon as the documents are available or, if appealed, after the appeal process is completed.
- 14. Emergency Monitoring Order–A legal action taken to quickly place an outside observer into a facility. Emergency Monitoring Orders will be posted on the website as soon as the documents are available or, if appealed, after the appeal process is completed.
- 15. Inspection Warrant A legal document filed in Superior Court to compel a provider to allow entry and access. An Inspection Warrant will be posted after the warrant is filed in Superior Court.



Child Care Services Division BRIGHT FROM THE START: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning Enforcement Actions and Descriptions

16. Injunction – Legal action taken by Superior Court to compel a provider to stop operating. An Injunction will be posted after the court order is received.

* Descriptions of enforcement actions are not legal definitions, but are intended for informational purposes. For legal definitions, reference O.C.G.A. Sections 20-1A-1 et seq. and the Rules and Regulations for Child Care Learning Centers and Family Child Care Learning Homes.