Family Child Care Learning Homes
Since February 2009, new Family Child Care Learning Home Providers have been required to obtain 20 hours of pre-service training prior to receiving a certificate of
license. New Family Child Care Learning Home providers and existing Family Child Care Learning Home providers are required to obtain 10 hours of training relating to the care
of children on an annual basis. If you are interested in opening a Family Child Care Learning Home (FCCLH), you must attend a License Orientation Meeting (LOM) class
prior to submitting an application for license. LOM is required for all FCCLH applicants that are not currently licensed.
Child Care Learning Centers
Child Care Learning Center staff are required to obtain 10 hours of training relating to the care of children on an annual basis. If you
are interested in opening a Child Care Learning Center (CCLC), you must attend a Licensure Orientation Meeting (LOM) class prior
to submitting an application for license.
For more information about training, please see the chart below that explains the different types of training requirements. Additionally, to locate state approved training opportunities throughout the state of Georgia, please visit the Georgia Professional Development System or the Georgia Training Approval websites.
For more specific information on required training or for questions about LOM, please contact DECAL's Child Care Services Division at 404.657.5562 and ask
for the "Consultant of the Day".
|Health & Safety Orientation and CPR & First aid Training Requirements
- All staff with direct care responsibilities must complete Health & Safety Orientation training plus CPR & First aid training (if not currently certified).
- Staff who provide direct care to children include, but are not limited to, lead teachers, assistant teachers, substitutes, family child care helpers, staff involved with transportation, etc.
- Staff who do not provide direct care could include assistant directors, cooks, administrative staff, or maintenance and housekeeping staff; however, if any of these employees provide direct care to children at any time, they must obtain first aid and CPR training prior to providing care.
- New staff members hired on or after October 1, 2016 must obtain the Health & Safety Orientation and CPR/First aid training within 90 days of employment.
- Staff that were hired before October 1, 2016 must complete the Health & Safety Orientation training and CPR and First Aid training (if not currently certified) by December 29, 2016.
- The new Health & Safety Orientation training:
- does not replace the initial staff orientation or first year training topics (“basic 6”), which are still required by the rules;
- only has to be completed one time (does not have to be renewed);
- can be used toward meeting the requirement for annual training hours.
- CCLC Directors and FCCLH Providers must have first aid and CPR training prior to employment or becoming licensed.
|First Year Training
- First year training begins at the staff’s hire date and ends at the first year anniversary of employment.
Example: Hire date: 5/1/14
First Year Anniversary: 5/1/15
First year training should be completed by 5/1/15.
When the program has a licensing study in 2016, the consultant will review the
staff’s first year training to ensure the required ten hours (10) were completed between 5/1/14 and 5/1/15.
All caregiver staff are required to obtain a minimum of ten (10) clock hours of training during their
first year of employment. At least six (6) of those hours should be obtained in the following topics:
- Four (4) clock hours of training in any of the following topics: disease control, cleanliness, basic hygiene, illness detection, illness disposition, and childhood injury control.
- Two (2) clock hours of training in identifying, reporting, and meeting the needs of abused, neglected, or deprived children.591-1-1-.33(2)(a)-(b)
- During the first year of employment, the Director and the person primarily responsible for food preparation are required to obtain a minimum of four (4) clock hours of training
in food nutrition planning, preparation, serving, proper dish washing, and food storage. 591-1-1-.33(3)
- Ongoing/Annual training begins the January after the first year anniversary of employment and ends in December of that calendar year.
- Example: Hire date: 5/1/14
First Year Anniversary: 5/1/15
The staff’s 2016 annual training should be completed between January and December of 2016 and would be evaluated at the licensing study in 2017.
*Note: Due to transition from first year training requirements (hire date to hire date) to ongoing training based on a calendar year, training
hours completed between the two time periods, from 5/1/15 to 12/31/15, would also be accepted to count toward the 2016 required ten hours of
ongoing annual training.
- After the first year of training, ten hours (10) of ongoing/annual training should be completed each subsequent year of employment (January through December).
- Note: The first year training requirements that specify particular topics do not apply to Family Child Care Learning Home providers.
Family Child Care Learning Home providers are required to complete 20 hours of pre-service training before submitting an initial application for a
Family Child Care Learning Home registration. Only information about annual training requirements applies to Family Child Care Learning Home providers.